Skip links and keyboard navigation

Great Barrier Reef Catchments

Aquatic Conservation Assessments (ACAs) are available for the riverine and non-riverine (i.e. palustrine and lacustrine) freshwater wetlands for 35 of the Great Barrier Reef catchments. An ACA for the freshwater non-riverine wetlands of the Baffle Creek catchment are part of this assessment and supersedes the previous Baffle Creek assessment.

View the ACA non-riverine report (version 1.3). View the ACA riverine the report (version 1.1).

Find out more about accessing the data and reports on the get mapping help page.

The riverine and non-riverine data and reporting (information on specific environmental values, by location) may be accessed through WetlandMaps.

Information on specific environmental values, by location, is also available via Environmental reports online.

For further information on AquaBAMM and the ACA results email biodiversity.planning♲

Great Barrier Reef catchments - non-riverine ACA report

Quick facts


or Aquatic conservation assessments are an outcome of the Aquatic Biodiversity Assessment and Mapping Method (AquaBAMM).

Thirty-five catchments
were included in the Great Barrier Reef (GBR) ACA including: Baffle, Barron, Belyando, Black, Bowen, Boyne, Burdekin lower, Burdekin upper, Burnett, Calliope, Comet, Curtis Island, Daintree, Dawson, Don, Fitzroy, Haughton, Herbert, Hinchinbrook Island, Isaac, Johnstone, Mackenzie, Mossman, Mulgrave-Russell, Murray, Nogoa, O’Connell, Pioneer, Plane, Proserpine, Ross, Shoalwater, Styx, Tully and Waterpark.

Last updated: 23 September 2020

This page should be cited as:

Department of Environment, Science and Innovation, Queensland (2020) Great Barrier Reef Catchments, WetlandInfo website, accessed 15 May 2024. Available at:

Queensland Government
WetlandInfo   —   Department of Environment, Science and Innovation